Teaching

My love for photography came a little late. I was already 29 when I bought my first DSLR. I had a superzoom before that and was used to those typical saturated colors, harsh sharpness settings and etc, so, when my first DSLR results came washed and, let’s say, lifeless, I couldn’t understand why. It was a better camera, wasn’t it?

Just like almost everyone starting, I knew nothing about photography as a science. I bought a few books, read some online texts and, very soon, I knew what I was doing, at least on theory, and could move past the automatic settings. 

I’m not exactly an artist, really. I can’t draw a thing to save my life and can’t play any instrument. I’m quite good with numbers, though. Learning photographic theory was easy because, basically, it’s Physics. Double this, split that.

Many years later, a friend of mine insisted that I should atend photography classes with him. It was a short course, around 12 hours. The teacher used to teach photography in a local university. He was a great person (passed away a few years ago), but there was very few technic detail and theory in his classes, so I learned little from him.

One thing was obvious, though: I knew enough to teach photography myself. Problem was, I never saw myself as a teacher. Never had the patience for that. In my head, if something is obvious to me, surely it must be so to everybody.

A friend of mine opened a small music school close to where I live and, after thinking about it for a long time, I decided to offer my services, so to say. He loved the ideia. 

I wrote a little list of the things I wish I was shown when I started. He liked what he saw and that was it. I was officially a teacher. 

I took great pleasure in preparing what I’d use. I decided for the 10 hours format divided in 4 days. Took my friend a while to find enough students, so I polished and rewrote the material until almost literally the last minute. 

Teaching felt great. I truly loved every minute of it. I think the students liked it too because I felt those eager “shining eyes” I’ve heard so much about looking at me. 

I came to the conclusion that, if you really love something and know it well enough, than teaching this something is quite pleasurable. Those who claim that they wouldn’t be teachers might not love their craft enough. 

But then again, that could only be true to me. 

3 thoughts on “Teaching

    1. I believe that, if someone feels that way, it’s probably insecurity. Fear of judgment, perhaps. To a certain kind of people, myself included, I could only stand in front of so many people if I REALLY knew what I was talking about. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

